Table of Content
Getting to the point, Marijuana for medical purposes has been legal in the state of Maryland. Recreational and adult use is illegal. However, there is a limited exemption for the possession of small amounts of marijuana for non-patients. Medical marijuana is regulated by the state legislature. They overlook the patient’s records, consumption, and sale to prevent misuse.
Maryland Weed Legalization
Medical Marijuana has been legal in Maryland since 2013. Efforts and research on the positive effects of the cannabis plant have led the state legislature to enforce medical marijuana available to the needy.
- 2013 – Governor Martin O’Malley signed a law that decriminalized the possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana.
- 2016 – The Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC) awarded 15 primary licenses to grow medical marijuana and a further 15 licenses to process medical marijuana into pills, oils, and other medical products. This was also the year when physicians, nurse practitioners, dentists, podiatrists, and nurse midwives were allowed to certify patients as eligible for medical marijuana.
- 2017 – An introduction in the state legislature to legalize, tax, and regulate recreational marijuana in the state. Maryland’s medical marijuana program became operational and sales began.
- 2019– The Marijuana Legalization Workgroup, began to consider ways to possibly legalize the adult use of recreational marijuana in Maryland.
- 2022 – The governor of Maryland has put the policy straight into the ballot box for Maryland voters to decide whether the recreational use of marijuana can be legalized or not. After the voting, the bill could pass as law without the signature or veto of the Governor.
Where is it safe to purchase?
Registered patients or their caregivers can purchase only from certified dispensaries. A simple search of state-approved medical marijuana dispensaries can bring up results including cities such as Baltimore, Annapolis, and Westminster. Many pharmacies offer curbside pickup in addition to storefront sales.
Where is it safe to consume cannabis?
Near schools, nurseries, parks, or other places where children are expected to be, using marijuana is illegal. Use in federal land or buildings, hospitals, or any additional healthcare space is also illegal. Private members’ clubs and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion.
Riding a bicycle, sitting in a vehicle, or driving it, under the influence is not protected under the law.
So it is highly advised to consume marijuana in the comfort and privacy of your own home.
Possession, Cultivation, and Penalties
- Qualifying Patients – can possess up to 120 grams of cannabis flower (dried) or 36 grams of THC concentrate for 30 days. Any more than that can also be prescribed by the medical practitioner, and if so, you must produce the certification proof in case of inquiry.
- Non-patients – Adults over the age of 21 can possess 10 grams or less of marijuana in person. Anything more than that is punishable by the law as follows:
- $100 for first-time offenders
- $250 for second-time offenders
- $500 for third or subsequent offenders
- It is illegal to grow any number of marijuana plants even for Medical Marijuana Card holders.
How to buy Medical Marijuana in Maryland?
The medical program, known as the Natalie M. LaPrade Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC), became operational in 2017. This commission is the regulatory agency for medical marijuana in Maryland. It maintains and overlooks all the necessary policies, procedures, registries, and laws on medical marijuana. So, to claim medical marijuana, one must have registered with the MMCC patient ID card program.
Patients having the following medical conditions can be prescribed for the use of medical marijuana.
- Chronic, Severe, or Intractable Pain
- Multiple Sclerosis (M.S.)
- Persistent Muscle Spasms
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe Nausea
- Wasting Syndrome
- Severe conditions where other medical treatments have been ineffective
- A medical condition requiring hospice admittance or receiving palliative care
And other such severe intractable conditions may come under this list when updated by the Maryland legislation.
- Register with MMCC (state fee $25)
The process of registration differs based on the patient’s age and accommodation. Currently, we have the following;
- Adult Patients (18+ years of age)
- Minor Patients (Under 18 years of age)
- Patients with special discounts
- Obtain a written certification from a provider registered with the Commission
- Visit a licensed Maryland dispensary
- A valid, accessible email account.
- Full 9- digit Social Security Number.
- An electronic copy of a valid government-issued photo ID.
- Proof that the applicant lives in Maryland.
- Driver’s license
- State-issued photo Identification card
- Military ID (both front and back)
- US Passport
All documents must be dated within the past 90 days.
Because medical marijuana is well-recognized, there can be a need for a caregiver. Also considering the diagnosis for minors or differently abled patients, a caregiver is approved by the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission.
- Qualifying patients under 18 can obtain medical marijuana with the help of their caregiver (parent/guardian) or any parent-authorized caregiver.
- A caregiver can serve up to 5 patients at a time.
- Qualifying patients above 18 can have only 2 caregivers and those under 18 can have only 4 caregivers.
For a minor patient to purchase medical marijuana, the caregiver must be registered with the state. The application process for a caregiver includes
- Submitting an electronic copy of a valid US government-issued photo identification and proof of Maryland residency.
- Completing and submitting the online application form on the MMCC Registry website.
- Receiving approval from the MMCC.
- Choosing the patient in the caregiver registry.
- Purchasing a caregiver ID card for $50.
Maryland does not have medical marijuana reciprocity and so does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards.
The Bottom Line!
This medical marijuana program allows for the card to be valid for three years which is relatively longer than in other states. So, it is highly recommended to consult with your doctor and purchase a medical card in Maryland for the betterment of your medical condition.
Our Simple 3 Step Process For Medical Marijuana Card
1. Fill up your details in an easy 420 Evaluations form.
2. Get Evaluated by a Local MMJ doctor After Online Submission.
3. Get Approved and Receive your Recommendation In Your Email.
Looking To Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card?
What Science Knows About Medical Marijuana’s Health Benefits?Table of Content Summarize Medical Marijuana is a natural curative plant that offers a wide range of health benefits to patients. The health benefits of Medical Cannabis are ever-growing...
How to Register for Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission?Table of Content Introduction Who is eligible to register as a Patient? How to register as a Patient? Accepted forms of Identification Card Registration Steps for Adult Patients Registration...
5 Mistakes To Avoid While Applying For A Medical Marijuana Card in MarylandTable of Content Introduction Defining Your Needs Faking Any Document Age Using a Shady Process Ignoring the Relevant Laws Getting a Medical Marijuana Card manually is an...